Stock radio what speakers?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

84chevk10

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
k10
Engine Size
I have 2, 4 inch speakers for the front of my 84 K10, I found some cheap pioneer speakers, 6x9's, on ebay for the rear. I have the factory AM/FM cassette radio, if I hook these up to the stk wiring will they sound ok? I was told that aftermarket speakers couldn't be hooked in to the stk wiring but I don't have a clue why not.

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
'77, '78, '79, '84, '88
Truck Model
K5 thru K30
Engine Size
350-454
I'm no sound expert, but I've hooked up a lot of aftermarket speakers to factory radios and wiring and was happy with the sound.

But I think it has something to do with the ohm rating of the speakers.

84chevk10

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
k10
Engine Size
That's what I thought, it's been along time, but I've done it on various cars before. I'm not after a big thumper system.

1987 GMC Jimmy

Automobile Hoarder
Reaction score
First Name
Jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
V1500 Jimmy
Engine Size