Steering box/ hydro boost issues

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Nemo

Reaction score
First Name
Bill
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30
Engine Size
I recently replaced all the seals in the steering box on my 1977 K30. I am not a professional mechanic, but I feel that I did my due diligence in researching the project before I started. After I installed it and bled the system (I may have screwed up by bleeding it with the engine running instead of having the engine off) the wheels started drifting to the right.

Every time I’d turn it back to the right, it would slowly turn to the right, full stop. I set it on the ground and the weight of the truck held the steering box from turning by itself.

I took it for a short test drive and noticed that as I turned left it was like there is no power assist, but turning right was effortless.

After I had made a couple of stops, the right front brake started locking up. Even with the most minimal of pressure on the pedal. Needless to say the test drive was over.

I’m having a hard time finding any troubleshooting for the issues I’m having and am hoping that I can get some help here.

Thank you

Mr Clean

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Shawn
Truck Year
1982 & 1985
Truck Model
K10 Extra Cab w/ Proper SWB, & 85 K5 Blazer
Engine Size
454 BBC, & 383 Stroker
Did you completely disassemble the gear box? If so did the pressure tube on the inside of the box get put back in the correct position? Or the hard seal on the shaft side get pinched? The only other thing I can think of is, Did you remove the steering arm? Maybe it didn't get clocked correct?

Nemo

Reaction score
First Name
Bill
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30
Engine Size