no engagement in any gear help please!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

big sally

Reaction score
First Name
kevin
Truck Year
Truck Model
jimmy Sierra classic
Engine Size
hello I'm new to this forum for starters I have a 1988 gmc jimmy Sierra classic 5.7 350 & 700r4 tranny
so my issue is I was driving and suddenly the truck was not moving on its power engine was on and raving but not moving I pulled over and everything seemed in tact and nothing was visibly leaking after a few min. I put the truck in 4wd high and nothing I put it in 4wd low and it engaged after that I put back into 2wd and I was Able to drive away, a few hours later the same thing happened again and still nothing leaking the truck has always shifted well the fluid is full but is more on the purple side then pink
this truck is my daily and I am not a mechanic but am Able to handle simple to moderate jobs

PrairieDrifter

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mason
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban k10, bonanza k10, c30 C&C, c10, gmc 1/2ton
Engine Size
350, 350, 350, 350, 350
I’d check to see if the TV cable is in good condition and good working order and possibly even check the throttle valve for proper operation, but that requires dropping the trans pan. If that’s not the issue I would say the trans is toast but I’m not a transmission master so just my 2 cents

HotRodPC

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
First Name
HotRod
Truck Year
85 K20 LWB
Truck Model
Silverado
Engine Size
454 - Turbo 400 - 3.73
Normally transfer case shifting isn't going to make a difference unless you're having some kind of transfer case failure. :shrug:

crazy4offroad

Equal Opportunity Destroyer
Reaction score
First Name
Curt
Truck Year
Truck Model
K-10
Engine Size
350/SM465/NP205