Newbie with slide-in camper question.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rocky Veley

Reaction score
First Name
Rocky
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Hi. I am a newbie ( to this forum ) square body truck fan. There is no better looking truck on earth in my opinion. Currently running a black 85 chevy K10 diesel with 3/4 ton springs, and a white 86 chevy c30 diesel. Last year I bought a 96 Northern Lite camper. The camper will work on either truck. Dry weight 583 kg's ( 1285 lb's .) I have the old style bed rail tie downs and I don't think they are strong enough.

My question is < does torklift make a frame style tie down for these trucks or is an underbelly bar the way to go ?

I appreciate any and all advice.

Thanks

ps ( could not find a slide in camper section )

Jrgunn5150

Questionable methods
Reaction score
First Name
J.R.
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
6.slow
I've only ever seen belly bars and chains/straps on this era of trucks. Nothing wrong with the belly bar really, place it properly and you'll never have an issue.

Rocky Veley

Reaction score
First Name
Rocky
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Thanks. I have been leaning in that direction. Have looked to no end for Torklift tie downs. I think the plan is find a piece of steel , weld some brackets on then drill and mount to the frame. I don't want to weld directly to the frame rails.

Craig 85

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Craig
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30 SRW
Engine Size
454/TH-400/NP205