Hood Won't Close!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Cdubya27

Reaction score
First Name
Chris
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
5.7L 350
Greetings - First time post!!

I recently purchased a 78 C10 in pretty bad shape. You had to really slam the hood to get it closed and the spring on the latch was broken so you had to kind of position the latch in a forward position prior to trying to shut it. Now the hood won't shut and latch at all.

If I lift the lever, I can get the hood to shut all the way, but when I release the lever, it doesn't actually catch the ball and the hood pops right back up. It's as if I just can't get that ball all the way into the receiver.

Anyone with experience in this?

PS...I can tell I'll be an active member on this forum, 'cause this truck needs a LOT of work and I have very little experience. Thanks for your help!

1987 GMC Jimmy

Automobile Hoarder
Reaction score
First Name
Jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
V1500 Jimmy
Engine Size