Help need with lift choices and the law

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JBJREX

Reaction score
First Name
Nathaniel
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Hello all. I’m new to the whole forum thing. I’m looking for ideas and suggestions. I have an 82 K20. I’m looking to have a finished truck that can off-road in mostly mud and also be legal on the road. I live in Virginia and I am limited to 29” from the ground to the bumper. My two options I’m looking at now are 6” suspension with 35s and most likely a 3” body lift as that gives lift and does not matter as far as the Va laws. My other choice would be 4” Superlift with shackle flips in the rear and a 3” body lift and run 37s. Thoughts? Suggestions? Pics would be great. Thanks.

Charlie

Mopar by Birth. Chevy by Choice.
Reaction score
First Name
Don
Truck Year
Truck Model
Cheyenne 10 LWB
Engine Size
350/TH350/AC/4 BBL Quadrajet
:welcome:

74 Shortbed

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
Welcome to the site..

75gmck25

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Bruce
Truck Year
Truck Model
K25 Camper Special TH350 NP203
Engine Size
How often do you plan to drive the truck on the street?

If you license it as an antique vehicle in VA (more than 25 years old), it is not subject to inspection and the registration is permanent. I only pay the minimum $33 personal property tax each year on my '75, and I insure it for estimated 4000 miles/year driving (much cheaper).
Antique vehicles are also restricted to:
  • Used ONLY for: Club events, exhibitions, and similar activities. Occasional pleasure driving, up to 250 miles from your home address.
Just make sure your pleasure driving takes you to good off-road locations :).

Bruce

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year