EFI conversion on l31 swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Frankenchevy

Proverbs 16:18
Reaction score
First Name
Jeremy
Truck Year
Square
Truck Model
CUCV
Engine Size
Small
Hello. Let me start by saying I’m not a mechanic. I’ve worked on small engines on motorcycles and air cooled vws. Other than that, just maintenance items on various vehicles. Let me also say, all in, I’m trying to keep this project around $4000 bearing in mind the longblock manifold, electronic ignition, EFI, serpentine setup and fuel tank/pump mods. Been kicking around what do with my truck for quite sometime now. Went back and forth on a Cummins swap, but decided to just buy a 1st gen cummins.

I finally settled on l31r vortec longblock from Chevy with a self learning efi system. I’m mostly focused on reliability and fuel economy. Don’t need a bunch of hp, just usable torque.

As the truck sits, it is a 327 with a t400 behind it. That little revver has to push my heavy 3/4 ton, t400, and 14-bolt & Dana 60 king pin front. It isn’t an ideal pairing. The fuel is supplied by dual saddle tanks, only one of which I use regularly. For now I’m sticking with that transmission until I can figure out something sweet like a 6l80e down the road.

My three questions are:

1. What is the best route on the fuel supply? Who makes the cheapest reliable solution to the efi fuel pump? I’ve seen quite a few inline ones that get okay feedback, but I can’t mount it lower than the k20s stock tanks, it would be to prone to getting damaged by a stick or rock. I want to get ethanol compatible on pump, tank and lines. I was thinking an oem 87 tank, but not sure of an ethanol proof fuel pump to go inside the tank.