Coolant Temp - Just checking if normal

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DesertBob

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Bob
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
350M/LT9
My 1985 K20 (8600 GVW) has the 350m, AC and a Manual Trans. The AC was just converted to r134a with all new parts. On Sunday it was about 95 degrees and very humid. Driving home on the highway at 65-70 mph the truck hit 210 degrees with the AC on MAX. It has never gotten that hot but then I have not driven it that far, at that speed, with the AC on MAX. When I got off the highway it cooled back down to its normal 195 degrees. I have a new 195 degree thermostat, new coolant, cap, hoses, no vacuum leaks and it is timed at 8* BTDC. The radiator appears to be the original HD. Stock Fan shroud and the fan clutch appears to be working. Gears are 3.4x and I roll on 32" tires. Does all this seem pretty normal behavior for this setup?

Last edited:

f1shman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
If you were moving at the time and had good airflow going through the condenser and radiator your temperature should not be going that high. I'd check the condenser and radiator for blockage either by debris or bent fins. Be sure to check both sides and also between the two by unbolting the upper radiator brackets and tilting it toward the engine a tad. If everything checks there, make sure your lower hose still has the spring inside of it to keep it from collapsing.

What's your coolant mixture, 50/50?

DesertBob

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Bob
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
350M/LT9
Coolant Mixture is brand new premixed 50/50. New AC condensor. I will check the radiator for blockages. Will check lower hose. I don't remember if it has the spring or not.

DesertBob

Full Access Member
Reaction score