Carb help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

spanky55amg

I'll give u $5, a hardy handshake, & 5 fish sticks
Reaction score
First Name
Spanky
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10 Short Fleet
Engine Size
V8
Ok... its been...... *sign* 17 years since I have touched a carb. I have been an engine performance tech but its all been mechanical and electronic fuel injection.

So here we go. I have a 84 C10 and everything that I can find on Quads is that it was supposed to have an electronic choke. I was hoping to find a Quad on this truck. It burns RICH all of the time. Idle when cold is rich and even dies. So I was thinking it could have been the choke. Running down the road, this thing burns rich. So Im thinking it needed to be adjusted.

Get it in the garage today and find out that it has a Holley 6210-3, which I have looked up is a 650 double pumper. As per the Holley site, this carb is fine for a 350, and I figure that it should be fine for a 305. Assuming this is a 305. Holley states this is for a divorced choke, and I assume(?) thats what our trucks run. Holley also states this is replacement carb for the Quads....

A. Is this carb too big?
B. Should this carb just be a "plug and play", meaning, everything should work?
C. Do we have a push or pull type choke? -- Im concerned the choke is not working correctly.
D. From the looks of it, all of the emissions have been pulled from the vehicle. It looks like that I will have to make sure all of the vacuum lines are ran correctly. (I cant trust anyone else's work is correct unless I know them. PTSD of working in the shop with crappy techs.) I bring this up because the truck is supposed to have cats but it doesnt and I know that will also make it smell like its burning rich.