Another "Dies at stoplights" Issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ColtSteel45

Reaction score
First Name
Colt
Truck Year
Truck Model
V10
Engine Size
Hello, I'm new to membership but have been lurking for a while. I've read countless threads and really appreciate all of the information here. So thank you for that!

I have a 1987 V10.. single cab short bed 1/2 ton 4x4 with the TBI 350. Quick back story.. My brother built this truck from stock in the early 2000s and its passed through 2 other owners before I picked it up about a month ago. Both owners abused her and didn't have much mechanical experience other than dropping it off at repair shops.

My issues.. Mainly she dies at almost all stop lights, so I can recreate it typically. It also dies at idle when it hits operation temperature the first warm up after a complete cool down. After restart, it will idle for hours with no issue. When it dies at stops, I can knock it into neutral (auto trans) and it fires right up every time. I'm not sure if its related but it will also fall on its face under load and heavy throttle like pulling a grade if I stomp the pedal. It will studder for about 4 seconds, wake up for 6 seconds, then studder again. I can also recreate that on demand. That only happens under speed (50mph or so) in the top 3/4 throttle). I can ease through the throttle and get above that speed with no issues of cutting out, only heavy throttle causes it.

My parts/tests.. New IACV, New TPS (voltage tested and no dead spots, adjusted correctly) New EGR, New MAP sensor, New plugs, wires, cap and rotor, Vacuum line routing confirmed correct and building vacuum when/where needed, Timing adjusted multiple times in different positions, New 02 sensor, New external coil, I'm sure other small stuff. Tested fuel pressure at the filter and its steady at 11 psi.