1986 K10 Hard to start when warm

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

wheezer

Reaction score
First Name
Eric
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Have an 86 K10 305CI. Bone stock, original. Thought I’d pick yalls brains on this. I am by no means an expert wrencher, can do the basics. So here we go...

She fires right up every time when it is cold after pressing the gas once. If you drive it around town and temp gets to normal range of 185* and come back to fire her up, it turns over. Sometimes it will catch after 1-2 turns, but if you miss that window, she turns over and doesn’t catch. I noticed that when she catches, small white puff smells like gas that hasn’t burned comes out of the exhaust

Here’s what I’ve done so far, but little else since she runs good as is:

Battery is new, starter is strong. Choke appears to be vertical when I pull the filter out. Also, she tends to fire up better when the filter is removed. If you let her sit for about 1 hour, she fires right up. Lol.

At this point, she runs extremely well considering it’s 30+ year old original motor.

Ideas on how to get her to fire up better when it is warm? Don’t want to be stranded at a parts store waiting for her to cool down and end up buying a basketful of parts and gadgets while waiting for her to cool down.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Dutch Rutter

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Joshua
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Just because I know someone will ask this but since you said its an original motor we assume it has a Quadrajet carb. Is that correct?

1987 GMC Jimmy

Automobile Hoarder
Reaction score
First Name
Jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
V1500 Jimmy
Engine Size