15 inches of vacuum

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Trippin3030

Reaction score
First Name
James
Truck Year
Truck Model
k20 campers special
Engine Size
Howdy folks sorry to bug you I'm sure there's already a thread on this but I've searched and searched and cant find one with solutions I haven't tried. First off I'm a Carpenter by trade with a love for turning wrenche's so my skill level may not be up to par.

I just rebuilt an edelbrock 1406 to replace my q-jet and like a rookie I didn't check how much vacuum I was getting with the Rochester. So I install the edelbrock set the choke as best I could and turns out the whole "screw them all in and then twist them out a turn and a half" for the idle air screws us where it draws the most vacuum but it's only drawing 15". I read somewhere that it should be about 18-21 inches. I can't find any leaks and when I palm the top of the carb it dies fast the only things I can think of is that the 1" spacer I have on the intake which I'm gonna pry off tomorrow or the timing is playing havoc. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Engine specs:
355 sbc
Edelbrock aluminum intake
Edelbrock 1406 with a fresh rebuild and the floats are 7/16 at the top and 15/16 at drop (I followed the build sheet to a T)
Short tube headers
Stock cam

Sorry for the longwinded post just wanted to make sure you had as much as I could provide. Thanks for taking the time.

Handy Andy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
andy
Truck Year
Truck Model
sierra 1500
Engine Size
What is your timing set at? Try advancing it until you stop gaining in vacuum and then back it off till your vacuum drops 1".