Go Back   GM Square Body - 1973 - 1987 GM Truck Forum > '73 - '87 GM Truck Modifications > Engine & Performance
Become a Supporting Member         Become a Preferred Vendor

Sponsored Ads

Engine & Performance Engines, Engine mods, Chips, Filters, etc.

User Tag List

Old 09-25-2013, 07:52 PM   #1
SafetyHelmet

Name: S

Year: 1982
Model: GMC Jimmy
Engine: 454/TH350 (Built)

SafetyHelmet is on a distinguished road
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Exclamation New Truck Mysteries!
Hi guys,

First off, I'm new to working on trucks entirely, so this is going to be an awesome adventure for me.. hopefully! You guys have already helped me fix my doors (the slamming sticky) and I've been reading a ton of good info here, so thanks!

I picked up a 1982 Jimmy that's been modified a bit. This thing runs like hell, but it was love at first sight, so now it's in my driveway.

http://i.imgur.com/9NRbl9g.jpg

Engine: 454 with a TH350 (built for it), Edelbrock 1406 carb. I haven't ID'd the motor yet, cant find any numbers on it. Dana 60 axles, 4.10 ratio. 36" Tires, haven't measured the lift but the hood sits about level with my girls' Rav-4 roof. Bottom of the bumpers sits around 30" from the ground. The floor from the edge of the front seats to the very back is 1/4" diamond plate steel, the PO didn't think the OEM floor pans were thick enough.

At any rate, I had to remove the glass packs since they are illegal here in MN, and I wanted to reduce the sizeable fine I'd get if I get nicked for other violations. So the Jimmy has stock mufflers on now. I'm not sure if the Jimmy did it before the muffler install, but I get a nasty stumble if I punch it off idle. With the choke on full, it's not as bad, but still there a little. I've tried adjusting the pump for a better squirt, didn't seem to make a difference either direction. I have not checked to see if I can see fuel squirting into the carb, can I do that with just the air cleaner removed?